Kingdom of Bhutan

826,229 7

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database

438,663 60.82%

Registered Voters (as of Oct. 24, 2018)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Bhutanese National Assembly Gyelyong Tshogdu Lower House
Bhutanese National Council Gyelyong Tshogde Upper House

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: King Jigme Khesar Namgyel WANGCHUCK
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister LOTAY Tshering 
  • Assembly: Bhutan has a bicameral Parliament (Chi Tshog) consisting of the National Council (Gyelyong Tshogde) with 25 seats and the National Assembly (Gyelyong Tshogdu) with 47 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The King is hereditary head of state.
  • Prime Minister is appointed by the monarch.
  • In the National Council (Gyelyong Tshogde), 20 members are elected by majority vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 5 members are appointed by the monarch to serve 5-year terms*. In the National Assembly (Gyelyong Tshogdu) 47 members are elected by majority vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.**

* Members of the upper house National Council cannot belong to any political party.

** Members of the lower house National Assembly represent political parties.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Bhutanese National Council 2007-12-31 147,789 269,337 54.87%
Bhutanese National Assembly 2008-03-24 253,012 318,465 79.45%
Bhutanese National Council 2013-04-23 168,180 379,819 44.28%
Bhutanese National Assembly 2013-05-31 211,018 381,790 55.27%
Bhutanese National Assembly 2013-07-13 252,493 381,790 66.13%
Bhutanese National Council 2018-04-20 234,470 432,030 54.27%
Bhutanese National Assembly 2018-10-18 313,473 438,663 71.46%

Voter Turnout