3,169,586 6

Population (as of July 28, 2021)

Elections in our database

2,389,879 42.08%

Registered Voters (as of None)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
National Assembly for Wales Cynulliad Cenedlaethol Cymru Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Boris JOHNSON
  • Assembly: Wales has a unicameral National Assembly for Wales (Cynulliad Cenedlaethol Cymru) with 60 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary N/A.
  • Prime Minister is appointed by the monarch.
  • In the National Assembly for Wales (Cynulliad Cenedlaethol Cymru), 40 members are elected by simple majority vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms and 20 members are elected through a party-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms. The members elected through party lists represent Wales' five electoral regions; this proportional representation system is also known as "Additional Member System" (AMS).
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
National Assembly for Wales 1999-05-06 1,021,857 2,205,117 46.34%
National Assembly for Wales 2003-05-01 849,552 2,229,545 38.1%
Referendum 2011-03-03 814,512 2,289,044 35.58%
National Assembly for Wales 2011-05-06 949,253 2,289,735 41.46%
National Assembly for Wales 2016-05-05 994,181 2,248,050 44.22%
National Assembly for Wales 2021-05-06 1,118,084 2,389,879 46.78%

Voter Turnout