1,340 2

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Tokelauan Parliament General Fono Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Siopili PEREZ
  • Assembly: Tokelau has a unicameral Parliament (Fono) with 20 seats.

* Represented by the Governor General of New Zealand, Anand SATYANAND

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary head of state.
  • Ulo-o-Tokelau is selected from village-based electorates to serve a 1-year term.
  • In the Parliament (Fono) 20 members are elected by popular vote to serve 3-year terms.***

*** Members are elected in three constituencies based on the three islands of Tokelau. Atafu elects 7 members, Fakaofo elects 7 members, and Nukunonu elects 6 members.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Referendum 2007-10-20 692 789 87.71%
Tokelauan Parliament 2020-01-23 - - -

Voter Turnout