Kingdom of Eswatini

1,415,414 3

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database

546,784 60.45%

Registered Voters (as of Sept. 26, 2018)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Swazi Senate Upper House
Swazi House of Assembly Lower House
House of Assembly of Eswatini Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: King MSWATI III
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Barnabas Sibusiso DLAMINI
  • Assembly: Swaziland has a bicameral Parliament (Libandla) consisting of the Senate with 30 seats and the House of Assembly with 66 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The King is hereditary head of state.
  • Prime Minister is appointed by the monarch.
  • In the Senate, 20 members are appointed by the monarch to serve 5-year terms and 10 members are elected by the Legislative Assembly to serve 5-year terms. In the House of Assembly, 10 members are appointed by the monarch to serve 4-year terms, 1 member is elected by the house as Speaker of the House, and 55 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.**

** Elections to the House of Assembly are contested over 2 rounds. In the first round, all candidates nominated in the district contest the election; however, due to the election law of Swaziland, candidates are prohibited from campaigning for this election

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Swazi House of Assembly 1998-10-24 119,845 198,445 60.39%
Swazi House of Assembly 2013-09-20 - 415,012 -
House of Assembly of Eswatini 2018-09-21 330,785 546,784 60.5%

Voter Turnout