Federal Republic of Somalia

15,636,171 1

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database

328 100.00%

Registered Voters (as of July 9, 2018)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Somali National Parliament Golaha Shacabka Soomaaliya Assembly
Somali House of the People Lower House

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Mohamed Abdullahi MOHAMED 
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Hassan Ali KHAIRE 
  • Assembly: Somalia has a bicameral Federal Parliament (Golaha Shacabka Soomaaliya) consisting of the Upper House of the Federal Parliament with 54 seats and the House of the People with 275 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by parliament.
  • Prime Minister is elected by the president with the approval of the parliament.
  • In the Upper House of the Federal Parliament 54 members are elected by regional governing councils to serve 4-year terms. In the House of the People 275 members are elected by popular vote to serve 4-year terms.*

* The inaugural House of the People was appointed in September 2012 by clan elders. The first elections will be held in 2016.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
President 2017-01-08 328 328 100.0%

Voter Turnout