Occupied Palestinian Territories

5,186,790 2

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database

1,341,671 75.56%

Registered Voters (as of Aug. 1, 2005)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Palestinian Legislative Council Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Mahmoud ABBAS
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Rami HABDALLAH **
  • Assembly: Palestine has a unicameral Palestinian Legislative Council with 132 seats.

** The Prime Minister is not required to be a member of the Palestinian Legislative Council.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 4-year term.
  • Prime Minister is appointed by the president.
  • In the Palestinian Legislative Council 132 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms. The threshold is 1.5 percent. The allocation formula is Sainte-Lague. There is one nationwide district. This system replaced a parallel system (closed-list PR and MNTV/block vote) under a 2007 Presidential decree.

Note: population data encompasses both the West Bank and Gaza Strip territories.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
President 2005-01-09 802,077 1,092,407 73.42%
Palestinian Legislative Council 2006-01-25 1,042,424 1,341,671 77.7%

Voter Turnout