Sultanate of Oman

5,001,875 5

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Omani Consultative Assembly Majlis al-Shura Lower House
Omani Council of State Majlis al-Dawla Upper House
Sultan and Prime Minister Sultan and Prime Minister Head of State

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Sultan and Prime Minister QABOOS bin Said al-Said
  • Head of Government: Sultan and Prime Minister QABOOS bin Said al-Said
  • Assembly: Oman has a bicameral Council of Oman (Majlis Oman) consisting of the Council of State (Majlis al-Dawla) with 85 seats and the Consultative Assembly (Majlis al-Shura) with 85 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Sultan and Prime Minister is hereditary head of state.
  • In the Council of State (Majlis al-Dawla) 85 members are appointed by the monarch from among former government officials and prominent citizens. In the Consultative Assembly (Majlis al-Shura), 85 members are elected by plurality vote to serve 4-year terms. 

* Following political reforms of 2011, all legislation from the Consultative Assemly is referred to the State Council for approval or amendment. Drafts must be approved by both chambers before being submitted to the Sultan.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Omani Consultative Assembly 2003-10-04 - 822,000 -
Omani Consultative Assembly 2007-10-27 212,354 338,683 62.7%
Omani Consultative Assembly 2011-10-15 397,000 518,000 76.64%
Omani Consultative Assembly 2015-10-25 297,905 525,785 56.66%
Omani Consultative Assembly 2019-10-27 - - -

Voter Turnout