Cook Islands

Cook Islands

10,447 5

Population (as of July 1, 2013)

Elections in our database

8,418 95.65%

Registered Voters (as of Nov. 1, 2010)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government
Parliament Assembly
Queen Queen Head of State

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Henry PUNA
  • Assembly: Cook Islands has a unicameral Parliament with 24 seats.

* The Queen is represented by Frederick GOODWIN and New Zealand High Commissioner John CARTER.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the governor-general.**
  • In the Parliament 24 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.***

** The leader of the majority party or the leader of the majority coalition usually becomes prime minister.

*** Ten MPs are from the main island of Rarotonga and the rest are from the outer islands.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Parliament 1999-06-16 - - -
Parliament 2004-09-07 8,328 - -
Parliament 2006-09-26 8,497 9,772 86.95%
Referendum 2010-11-17 8,418 8,418 100.0%
Parliament 2010-11-17 8,418 8,418 100.0%

Voter Turnout