June 14, 2018 Confirmed

Cook Islands

Cook Islands

Election for Cook Islands Parliament

More Info:

Cook Islands: Parliamentary Election, 14 June 2018  

At stake in this election:

  • 24 seats in the Parliament

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Jim MARURAI
  • Assembly: Cook Islands has a unicameral Parliament with 25 seats.

* The Queen is represented by Frederick GOODWIN; New Zealand High Commissioner Linda TE PUNI

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary.
  • Prime Minister is designated by the monarch.**
  • In the Parliament 24 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.***

** The leader of the majority party or the leader of the majority coalition usually becomes prime minister.

*** Ten MPs are from the main island of Rarotonga and the rest are from the outer islands.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: Democratic Party (DP)
    • Leader: William HEATHER
    • Seats won in last election: 9
  • Party: Cook Islands Party (CIP)
    • Leader: Henry PUNA
    • Seats won in last election: 13
  • Party: One Cook Islands
    • Leader: Teina Bishop
    • Seats won in last election: 2
  • Party: Titikaveka Oire
    • ​Leader: N/A
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Party: Alternative Must Ravenga Openga
    • Leader: N/A
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Party: Independent Candidate
    • Leader: N/A
    • Seats won in last election: 0

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 17,459 (December 2016 Census)
  • Registered Voters: 10,638 (May 2018- the registered voter number reflect the number of voters on the main and supplementary rolls just prior to the election (supplied by the Electoral Office.))