Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso

18,365,123 5

Population (as of May 19, 2015)

Elections in our database

5,517,015 57.76%

Registered Voters (as of Dec. 11, 2015)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government
National Assembly Assemblée Nationale Lower House
Senate Sénat Upper House
President President Head of State

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Interim President Michel KAFANDO (since 18 November 2014)*
  • Head of Government: Interim Prime Minister Lt Col Yacouba Isaac ZIDA (since 19 November 2014)*
  • Assembly: Burkina Faso has a bicameral National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) consisting of the Senate (Sénat) with 89 seats and the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 127 seats.

​*Both the Interim President and Interim Prime Minister came to power shortly a period of political unrest following the resignation of former President Blaise COMPAORE on 31 October 2014.  More information about the transition can be found here.  

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term.
  • Prime Minister is appointed by the president with the approval of the parliament.
  • In the Senate (Sénat), 39 members are elected by regional governing councils, 21 members are indirectly elected by special interest groups and 39 members are filled by the President*. In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) 127 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms.**

* The Senate was created in May 2013.

** In the National Assembly, 111 members are elected by proportional representation in 45 multi-member constituencies having between 2 and 9 seats, and 16 members are elected by proportional representation in a nationwide constituency.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
President 1998-11-15 2,361,294 4,210,134 56.09%
President 2005-11-13 2,262,899 3,924,328 57.66%
President 2010-11-21 1,778,693 3,239,777 54.9%
National Assembly 2015-11-29 3,317,193 5,517,015 60.13%
President 2015-11-29 3,309,988 5,517,015 60.0%

Voter Turnout