Republic of Nicaragua

5,848,641 6

Population (as of May 29, 2015)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
President President Head of Government
National Assembly Asamblea Nacional Assembly
President President Head of State

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Jose Daniel ORTEGA Saavedra *
  • Head of Government: President Jose Daniel ORTEGA Saavedra
  • Assembly: Nicaragua has a unicameral National Assembly (Asamblea Nacional) with 92 seats.

* In order to avoid a run-off, a candidate must obtain either 40 percent of the vote or 35 percent with at least a 5-point lead over the nearest rival.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly (Asamblea Nacional), 90 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms and 2 members are reserved for the former President to serve 5-year terms.***

*** There are 17 multi-member constituencies for 70 seats (District magnitude ranging from 2 to 19) and one nationwide constituency comprising 20 seats. There is no threshold for entering parliament. One seat is reserved for the previous president and one seat for the runner-up in previous presidential election.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
National Assembly 2006-11-05 2,445,692 3,665,141 66.73%
President 2006-11-05 2,244,215 3,665,141 61.23%
President 2011-11-06 2,613,087 3,303,831 79.09%
National Assembly 2011-11-06 2,512,584 3,665,141 68.55%
President 2016-11-06 - - -
National Assembly 2016-11-06 - - -

Voter Turnout