Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal

30,986,975 2

Population (as of May 29, 2015)

Elections in our database

12,200,000 68.05%

Registered Voters (as of Oct. 1, 2013)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government
Constituent Assembly Sambidhan Sabha Assembly
President President Head of State

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Ram Baran YADAV *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Sushil KOIRALA
  • Assembly: Nepal has a unicameral Constituent Assembly (Sambidhan Sabha) with 601 seats. The Constituent Assembly is an interim legislature established in 2008 tasked with writing a new Constitution.

* YADAV is the first ever president of Nepal. The position was created after the country was declared a republic in 2008.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by parliament.
  • The Prime Minister is elected by parliament.
  • In the Constituent Assembly (Sambidhan Sabha), 240 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms, 335 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms and 26 members are appointed by the Cabinet to serve 5-year terms.***

*** The proportional representation tier contains one, nationwide district. Candidates may run in only one tier.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Constituent Assembly 2008-04-10 10,306,120 17,609,895 58.52%
Constituent Assembly 2013-11-19 9,463,862 12,200,000 77.57%

Voter Turnout