30,073,353 4

Population (as of May 27, 2015)

Elections in our database

13,268,002 74.98%

Registered Voters (as of April 1, 2013)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
King King Head of State
House of Representatives Dewan Rakyat Lower House
Senate Dewan Negara Upper House
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: King Tuanku ABDUL HALIM Mu'adzam Shah *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Mohamed NAJIB bin Abdul Najib Razak
  • Assembly: Malaysia has a bicameral Parliament (Parlimen 马来西亚国会) consisting of the Senate (Dewan Negara) with 70 seats and the House of Representatives (Dewan Rakyat) with 222 seats.

* The King is elected by and from the hereditary rulers of the nine states of Malaysia.

Description of electoral system:

  • The King is elected by hereditary state rulers to serve a 5-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is designated by parliament.
  • In the Senate (Dewan Negara), 44 members are appointed by the monarch to serve 3-year terms and 26 members are elected by the state legislatures to serve 3-year terms*. In the House of Representatives (Dewan Rakyat) 222 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.

* 44 seats appointed by paramount ruler, 26 elected by 13 state legislatures. There is a two-term term limit.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
House of Representatives 1999-11-29 6,655,348 9,694,156 68.65%
House of Representatives 2004-03-21 7,209,948 9,756,097 73.9%
House of Representatives 2008-03-08 7,944,274 10,922,139 72.74%
House of Representatives 2013-05-05 11,226,133 13,268,002 84.61%

Voter Turnout