Sept. 17, 2019 Confirmed


State of Israel

Election for Knesset (Israeli Knesset)

More Info:

Israeli Knesset Election September 17, 2019

At Stake in this Election:

  • 120 seats in the Knesset[1]

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: President Reuben RIVLIN (since 27 July 2014)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Binyamin NETANYAHU (since 31 March 2009, most recently reformed on 15 May 2015)
  • Assembly: Unicameral Knesset (120 seats; members directly elected in a single nationwide constituency by proportional representation vote; members serve 4-year terms)

Electoral System:

  • The President is elected by parliament to serve a 7-year term.
  • Prime Minister is designated by the president to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Knesset 120 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms. There is a 3.25% threshold required to gain representation. All candidates run in one national district.

Main Parties in this Election[2]:

  • Coalition: Likud-Kulanu
    • Leader: Benjamin NETANYAHU
    • Seat won in April 2019 election: 39[3]
  • Alliance: Blue and White, Kahol Lavan
    • Leader(s): Benny GANTZ and Yair LAPID
    • Seats won in April 2019 election: 35
  • Alliance: United Right[4]
    • Leader: Ayelet SHAKED
    • Seats won in April 2019 election: 5
  • Alliance: Joint List
    • Leader: Ayman ODEH
    • Seats won in April 2019 election: N/A[5]
  • Party: Yisrael Beiteinu
    • Leader: Avigdor LIEBERMAN
    • Seats won in April 2019 election: 5
  • Alliance: United Torah Judaism
    • Leader: Yaakov LITZMAN
    • Seats won in April 2019 election: 8
  • Party: Shas
    • Leader: Aryeh DERI
    • Seats won in April 2019 election: 8
  • Alliance: Labor-Gesher
    • Leader: Amir PERETZ
    • Seats won in April 2019 election: 6[6]
  • Alliance: Democratic Union[7]
    • Leader: Nitzan HOROWITZ
    • Seats won in April 2019 election:4[8]

Population and Registered Voters:

  • Population: 8,583,916 (2019 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 6,339,729 (April 2019)

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 4,314,369 (2019 est.)
  • Is Israel a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)
  • Has Israel ratified CEDAW: Yes (3 October 1991)
  • Gender Quota: Political parties have voluntary quotas but there are no legislated quotas.
  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Legislators: 33 (27.5%) of 120 seats in the Knesset
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 22 (2018)
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A (2019)

Disability Data:

  • Is Israel a signatory to CRPD: Yes (20 March 2007)
  • Has Israel ratified CRPD: Yes (28 September 2012)
  • Population with a disability: 1,207,397 (est.)

[1] Israel had an election in April 2019. No government was formed as a result, and new elections were called for.

[2] There are 12 parties total running in this election.

[3] In the last election, Likud and Kulanu ran as separate parties. Likud won 35 seats, and Kulanu won 4 seats.

[4] The United Right is an alliance of several religious Zionist parties, comprised of the Union of Right-Wing Parties (Tkuma and The Jewish Home) and the New Right.

[5] The alliance is made up of four ideologically diverse Arab Israeli parties, who together had 10 seats in the 21st Knesset. Factions include the Ra'am, Hadash, Ta'al and Balad.

[6] In the last election, the Labor party won 6 seats, and the Gesher party did not pass the electoral threshold.

[7] This party is made up of Meretz, the new Israel Democratic Party formed by former prime minister Ehud Barak, Israeli Labor Party defector Stav Shaffir, and the extra-parliamentary Green Movement.

[8] In the last election, the Meretz party won 4 seats.