State of Israel

7,707,042 5

Population (as of July 1, 2013)

Elections in our database

5,656,705 68.52%

Registered Voters (as of Jan. 1, 2013)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
President President Head of State
Knesset Assembly
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Shimon PERES *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Binyamin NETANYAHU
  • Assembly: Israel has a unicameral Knesset with 120 seats.

* The president is largely a ceremonially role.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by parliament to serve a 7-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is designated by the president to serve a 4-year term.**
  • In the Knesset 120 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.***

** After parliamentary elections, the president will usually select a prime minister that he/she feels has the best possibility of forming a new government.

*** There is a two percent threshold required to gain representation. All candidates run in one, nationwide district.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Knesset 1999-05-17 3,373,748 4,285,428 78.73%
Knesset 2003-01-28 3,200,773 4,720,075 67.81%
Knesset 2006-03-28 3,186,739 5,014,622 63.55%
Knesset 2009-02-10 3,416,587 5,278,985 64.72%
Knesset 2013-01-22 3,834,136 5,656,705 67.78%

Voter Turnout