Kingdom of Cambodia

15,957,223 4

Population (as of July 1, 2016)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Cambodian National Assembly Radhsphea Ney Preah Recheanachakr Kampuchea Lower House
Cambodian Senate Upper House

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: King Norodom SIHAMONI
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister HUN SEN
  • Assembly: Cambodia has a bicameral Parliament consisting of the Senate with 61 seats and the National Assembly (Radhsphea Ney Preah Recheanachakr Kampuchea) with 123 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The King is hereditary head of government.
  • In the Senate, 57 members are elected by members of the National Assembly and local Commune councilors to serve 6-year terms, 2 members are elected by the National Assembly to serve 6-year terms and 2 members are appointed by the monarch to serve 6-year terms. In the National Assembly (Radhsphea Ney Preah Recheanachakr Kampuchea) 123 members are elected by universal adult suffrage to serve 5-year terms.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Cambodian National Assembly 2003-07-27 5,277,494 6,341,834 83.22%
Cambodian National Assembly 2008-07-27 6,111,210 8,125,529 75.21%
Cambodian National Assembly 2013-07-28 6,627,159 9,675,453 68.49%
Cambodian National Assembly 2018-07-29 - - -

Voter Turnout