Republic of Kosovo

1,859,203 4

Population (as of May 27, 2015)

Elections in our database

1,799,023 46.51%

Registered Voters (as of July 31, 2014)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
President President Head of State
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government
Assembly Kuvendi i Kosovës/Skupština Kosova Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Atifete JAHJAGA *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Isa MUSTAFA
  • Assembly: Kosovo has a unicameral Assembly (Kuvendi i Kosovës/Skupština Kosova) with 120 seats.

* President Bedzet PACOLI resigned following a ruling by the constitutional court that the two-thirds quorum required to elected a president had not been attained during the first two rounds of parliamentary voting as required by the constitution. JAHJAGA was nominated as a consensus candidate.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by parliament to serve a 5-year term.
  • Prime Minister is elected by parliament.
  • In the Assembly (Kuvendi i Kosovës/Skupština Kosova), 100 members are elected through an open-list proportional representation system to serve 3-year terms and 20 members are reserved to represent Kosovo's national minorities to serve 3-year terms.***

*** In the proportional tier, there is a 30 percent female quota under which every third candidate must be female. Electors may vote for up to five individual candidates within the list they choose. Of the seats reserved for ethnic minorities, 10 are reserved for ethnic Serbs, and 10 are reserved for other ethnic minorities.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Assembly 2004-10-23 663,357 1,297,975 51.11%
Assembly 2007-11-17 628,630 1,400,000 44.9%
Assembly 2010-12-12 743,892 1,570,000 47.38%
Assembly 2014-06-08 766,834 1,799,023 42.63%

Voter Turnout