European Union

European Union

503,890,016 4

Population (as of July 1, 2013)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
European Commission President European Commission President Head of State
President of the European Council President of the European Council Head of Government
European Parliament Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: European Commission President Jose Manuel BARROSO *
  • Head of Government: President of the European Council Herman VAN RUMPOY
  • Assembly: European Union has a unicameral European Parliament with 766 seats.

* The president of the European Commission is designated by member governments and the president-designate then chooses the other Commission members. The European Parliament confirms the entire Commission for a five-year term.

Description of electoral system:

  • The European Commission President is designated by member governments to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the European Parliament 766 members are elected by proportional representation to serve 5-year terms.***

*** Member states may choose their own electoral systems so long as they are based on proportional representation or the single transferable vote. Currently the European Parliament has 766 seats, after the accession of Croatia in 2013. However, seats will be reapportioned prior to the 2014 election, to conform to the stipulations in the Treaty of Lisbon that limits the European Parliament to 751 seats.
The Council of the European Union also serves as a legislative branch of the European Union. Members are elected indirectly by member countries. In the Council of the European Union, all measures must pass a qualified majority of 255 votes. In the Council, 28 member-state ministers have 352 votes, the number of votes being roughly proportional to member-states' populations.
The apportionment of seats in the European Parliament for the 2014 election is as follows;
Austria 96
France 74
United Kingdom 73
Italy 73
Spain 54
Poland 51
Romania 32
Netherlands 26
Belgium 21
Czech Republic 21
Greece 21
Hungary 21
Portugal 21
Sweden 20
Austria 18
Bulgaria 17
Finland 13
Denmark 13
Slovakia 13
Croatia 11
Ireland 11
Lithuania 11
Latvia 8
Slovenia 8
Cyprus 6
Estonia 6
Luxembourg 6
Malta 6

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
European Parliament 1999-06-10 - 298,000,000 -
European Parliament 2004-06-10 - 350,000,000 -
European Parliament 2009-06-10 163,355,823 382,682,177 42.69%
European Parliament 2014-05-22 - - -

Voter Turnout