Republic of Yemen

26,052,966 5

Population (as of June 4, 2015)

Elections in our database

10,243,364 67.70%

Registered Voters (as of Feb. 1, 2012)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government
Shura Council Majlis Alshoora Upper House
President President Head of State
House of Representatives Majlis Annowab Lower House

Description of government structure: *

  • Chief of State: TBD 
  • Head of Government: TBD 
  • Assembly: Yemen has a bicameral Parliament (Majlis) consisting of the Shura Council (Majlis Alshoora) with 111 seats and the House of Representatives (Majlis Annowab) with 301 seats.

* Yemen's President Abd Rabuh Mansur HADI, Prime Minister Mohammed Salimm BA SINDWAH and Cabinet resigned on the evening of 22 January 2015. The resignation was rejected by Parliament, but the next steps are still to be confirmed.

** HADI was elected as a consensus president after Ali Abdullah SALEH was removed from office on February 21, 2012. No other candidates participated in the election. HADI's term will expire in 2014.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 7-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the president.
  • In the Shura Council (Majlis Alshoora) 111 members are appointed by the president. In the House of Representatives (Majlis Annowab) 301 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 6-year terms.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
President 1999-09-23 3,772,891 5,591,422 67.48%
Referendum 2001-02-20 2,569,226 3,945,500 65.12%
House of Representatives 2003-04-27 6,105,696 8,035,721 75.98%
President 2006-09-20 6,025,818 9,247,390 65.16%
President 2012-02-21 6,635,192 10,243,364 64.78%

Voter Turnout