Trinidad and Tobago

Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

1,375,443 8

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database

1,099,279 71.65%

Registered Voters (as of Sept. 24, 2015)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Trinidadian House of Representatives Lower House
Trinidadian Senate Upper House

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Anthony CARMONA *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Keith ROWLEY **
  • Assembly: Trinidad and Tobago has a bicameral Parliament consisting of the Senate with 31 seats and the House of Representatives with 41 seats.

* The President is elected by indirect vote by an electoral college consisting of ten senators, the Speaker, and twelve members of the House of Representatives.

** The president usually appoints the leader of the majority party in the House of Representatives

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is indirectly elected by an electoral college to serve a 5-year term.
  • Prime Minister is appointed by the President to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the Senate, 16 members are appointed by the ruling party to serve 5-year terms, 6 members are appointed by the opposition to serve 5-year terms and 9 members are appointed by the president to serve 5-year terms. In the House of Representatives 41 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Trinidadian House of Representatives 2000-12-11 597,525 946,689 63.12%
Trinidadian House of Representatives 2001-12-10 561,993 849,874 66.13%
Trinidadian House of Representatives 2002-10-07 608,830 875,260 69.56%
Trinidadian House of Representatives 2007-11-05 653,882 990,352 66.03%
President 2008-02-11 - - -
Trinidadian House of Representatives 2010-05-24 726,801 1,040,128 69.88%
President 2013-02-15 23 23 100.0%
Trinidadian House of Representatives 2015-09-07 734,792 1,099,279 66.84%

Voter Turnout