Sri Lanka

Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

21,018,859 9

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database

15,044,490 74.32%

Registered Voters (as of Aug. 18, 2015)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Sri Lankan Parliament Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Mahinda Maithripala SIRISENA
  • Head of Government: President Mahinda Maithripala SIRISENA*
  • Assembly: Sri Lanka has a unicameral Parliament with 225 seats.

* Ranil WICKREMESINGHE holds the largely ceremonial title of Prime Minister. SIRISENA serves as both chief of state and head of government.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected through a contingent vote system to serve a 6-year term.  Under the contingent vote system, voters may rank up to three candidates. If no candidate wins a majority in the first round of counting, ballots whose first rankings are eliminated candidates are redistributed to the next-ranked candidates on those ballots. The winner is the candidate with the most votes after this second round of counting.
  • In the Parliament 225 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies to serve 6-year terms.
    • Parties must clear a threshold of one-eighth of votes to win seats in the respective constituency. Each voter may cast three preference votes. There are 22 multi-member constituencies containing 196 seats and one nationwide constituency with 29 seats.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
President 1999-12-21 8,635,290 11,779,200 73.31%
Sri Lankan Parliament 2000-10-10 9,128,823 12,071,062 75.63%
Sri Lankan Parliament 2001-12-05 9,449,813 12,428,208 76.04%
Sri Lankan Parliament 2004-04-02 9,797,680 12,899,139 75.96%
President 2005-11-17 9,826,778 13,327,160 73.73%
President 2010-01-26 10,495,451 14,088,500 74.5%
Sri Lankan Parliament 2010-04-08 8,528,414 14,088,500 60.53%
President 2015-01-08 12,264,377 15,044,490 81.52%
Sri Lankan Parliament 2015-08-17 11,684,111 15,044,490 77.66%

Voter Turnout