Kingdom of Spain

47,370,542 9

Population (as of July 1, 2013)

Elections in our database

35,779,208 69.87%

Registered Voters (as of Nov. 1, 2011)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
President of the Government President of the Government Head of Government
Senate Senado Upper House
Congress of Deputies Congreso de los Diputados Lower House
King King Head of State

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: King JUAN CARLOS I
  • Head of Government: President of the Government Mariano RAJOY Brey
  • Assembly: Spain has a bicameral The General Courts (Las Cortes Generales) consisting of the Senate (Senado) with 257 seats and the Congress of Deputies (Congreso de los Diputados) with 350 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The King is hereditary head of state.
  • President of the Government is elected by parliament.
  • In the Senate (Senado), 208 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms and 49 members are appointed by regional legislatures to serve 4-year terms. In the Congress of Deputies (Congreso de los Diputados) 350 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.**

** Members are elected in 50 multi-member districts using the D'Hondt method, with the enclaves of Ceuta and Melilla electing one member each using plurality voting.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Senate 2000-03-12 - 33,045,318 -
Congress of Deputies 2000-03-12 23,125,773 33,045,318 69.98%
Congress of Deputies 2004-03-14 25,846,620 33,473,081 77.22%
Senate 2004-03-14 25,841,904 33,473,081 77.2%
Referendum 2005-02-20 14,204,663 33,563,680 42.32%
Congress of Deputies 2008-03-09 25,514,671 33,875,268 75.32%
Senate 2008-03-09 25,752,839 33,875,268 76.02%
Senate 2011-11-20 25,752,839 35,779,208 71.98%
Congress of Deputies 2011-11-20 24,666,392 35,779,208 68.94%

Voter Turnout