Solomon Islands

Solomon Islands

609,883 4

Population (as of June 1, 2015)

Elections in our database

290,000 65.09%

Registered Voters (as of Feb. 27, 2015)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Queen Queen Head of State
National Parliament Assembly
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Manasseh SOGAVARE
  • Assembly: Solomon Islands has a unicameral National Parliament with 50 seats.

* The Queen is represented by Governor General Sir Frank Utu Ofagioro KABUI.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary.
  • The Prime Minister is elected by parliament to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the National Parliament 50 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
National Parliament 2001-12-05 178,161 287,921 61.88%
National Parliament 2006-04-05 190,786 339,688 56.17%
National Parliament 2010-08-04 234,366 447,612 52.36%
National Parliament 2014-11-19 260,797 290,000 89.93%

Voter Turnout