Kingdom of Bahrain

1,281,332 6

Population (as of July 1, 2013)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Shura Council Majlis Al-Shura Upper House
King King Head of State
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government
Council of Representatives Majlis Al-Nuwab Lower House

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: King HAMAD bin Isa al-Khalifa
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister KHALIFA bin Salman al-Khalifa
  • Assembly: Bahrain has a bicameral National Assembly (al-Jamiyh al-Watani) consisting of the Shura Council (Majlis Al-Shura) with 40 seats and the Council of Representatives (Majlis Al-Nuwab) with 40 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The King is the hereditary head of state.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the monarch.
  • In the Shura Council (Majlis Al-Shura) 40 members are appointed by the monarch. In the Council of Representatives (Majlis Al-Nuwab) 40 members are elected by absolute majority vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms.**

** A second, runoff round is held if no candidate receives and absolute majority in the first round.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Referendum 2001-02-14 196,262 217,579 90.2%
Referendum 2001-02-15 - 217,579 -
Council of Representatives 2002-10-24 243,449 243,637 99.92%
Council of Representatives 2010-10-23 123,305 318,000 38.78%
Council of Representatives 2011-09-24 - 187,080 -
Council of Representatives 2014-11-22 - - -

Voter Turnout