Republic of Panama

3,608,431 10

Population (as of June 1, 2015)

Elections in our database

2,457,401 70.67%

Registered Voters (as of May 4, 2014)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
President President Head of State
National Assembly Asamblea Nacional Assembly
President President Head of Government

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Juan Carlos VARELA
  • Head of Government: President Juan Carlos VARELA
  • Assembly: Panama has a unicameral National Assembly (Asamblea Nacional) with 71 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by simple majority vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly (Asamblea Nacional), 45 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 26 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.***

*** Seat allocation in the MMDs is in three stages. First, the total valid poll in any district is divided by the number of seats in that district. The result is the "electoral quotient." The number of votes for each party is divided by the electoral quotient, and the result is the number of seats in the district to which each party is entitled. Second, any remaining seats in the district are allocated to parties that have received at least one half an electoral quotient, but not a full electoral quotient, in descending order from largest to smallest vote share. Third, any remaining seats in the district are allocated to individual candidates in descending order from largest to smallest personal vote share.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Referendum 1998-08-30 1,124,112 1,718,870 65.4%
President 1999-05-02 1,326,663 1,746,989 75.94%
National Assembly 1999-05-02 - 1,746,989 -
President 2004-05-02 1,537,714 1,999,553 -
National Assembly 2004-05-02 1,524,976 1,999,553 -
Referendum 2006-10-22 924,029 2,132,842 -
National Assembly 2009-05-03 1,603,937 2,211,261 -
President 2009-05-03 1,636,508 2,211,261 -
National Assembly 2014-05-04 1,847,800 2,457,401 -
President 2014-05-04 1,886,208 2,457,401 -

Voter Turnout