New Caledonia

Territory of New Caledonia and Dependencies

275,355 1

Population (as of July 1, 2016)

Elections in our database

152,457 69.95%

Registered Voters (as of May 11, 2014)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
New Caledonian Territorial Congress Congres du Territoire Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Francois HOLLANDE *
  • Head of Government: President of the Governement Philippe GERMAINE
  • Assembly: New Caledonia has a unicameral Territorial Congress (Congres du Territoire) with 54 seats.

* Represented in New Caledonia by High Commissioner Thierry LATASTE

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by popular vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • President of the Governement is elected by parliament to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the Territorial Congress (Congres du Territoire) 54 members are indirectly elected by proportional representation at the provincial level to serve 5-year terms. The Territorial Congress has 54 members that are selected proportionally based on the partisan makeup of the three provincial assemblies, which are elected for 5-year terms by proportional representation, with a 5% threshold.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
New Caledonian Territorial Congress 2014-05-11 106,650 152,457 69.95%

Voter Turnout