Republic of Mozambique

24,692,144 8

Population (as of May 29, 2015)

Elections in our database

10,964,978 50.78%

Registered Voters (as of Nov. 18, 2014)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
President President Head of State
Assembly of the Republic Assembleia da República Assembly
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Filipe Jacinto NYUSI
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Carlos Agostinho DO ROSARIO
  • Assembly: Mozambique has a unicameral Assembly of the Republic (Assembleia da República) with 250 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term.
  • Prime Minister is appointed by the President.
  • In the Assembly of the Republic (Assembleia da República), 248 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms and 2 members are elected in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.***

*** 248 seats are apportioned among 11 multi-member constituencies corresponding to the provinces in proportion to their populations. Two single-seat constituencies represent Mozamibcans living abroad in Africa and "other countries," respectively. According to the electoral law (2007) these seats are "both based in Maputo."

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
President 1999-12-03 4,934,352 7,099,105 69.51%
Assembly of the Republic 1999-12-03 4,724,097 7,099,105 66.54%
Assembly of the Republic 2004-12-02 3,321,926 9,142,151 36.34%
President 2004-12-02 3,329,177 9,142,151 36.42%
Assembly of the Republic 2009-10-28 4,387,250 9,871,949 44.44%
President 2009-10-28 3,965,785 7,099,105 55.86%
President 2014-10-15 5,333,665 10,964,978 48.64%
Assembly of the Republic 2014-10-15 5,316,936 10,964,978 48.49%

Voter Turnout