Islamic Republic of Mauritania

3,516,806 12

Population (as of May 29, 2015)

Elections in our database

1,328,168 69.93%

Registered Voters (as of July 30, 2014)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
National Assembly Al Jamiya Al Wataniya Lower House
President President Head of State
Senate Majlis al-Shuyukh Upper House
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Mohamed Ould Abdel AZIZ
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Yahya Ould HADEMINE
  • Assembly: Mauritania has a bicameral Parliament (Barlamane) consisting of the Senate (Majlis al-Shuyukh) with 56 seats and the National Assembly (Al Jamiya Al Wataniya) with 95 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term. The President must be elected through absolute majority. If this majority is not obtained by one candidate in the first round, a second round is held within the next 15 days where 2 candidates (those having obtained the most votes in the first round) will run against one another. 
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the President.
  • In the Senate (Majlis al-Shuyukh), 53 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 6-year terms and 3 members are reserved for the diaspora community to serve 6-year terms*. In the National Assembly (Al Jamiya Al Wataniya), 81 members are elected in single- and multi-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 14 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms.**

* 53 members are elected by indirect vote by municipal leaders to serve 6-year terms; one-third of seats are renewed every two years. 3 members are elected by Mauritanians abroad.

** In the nominal tier, there are 45 constituencies of varying magnitudes. In single-member districts, the electoral system is two-round. In two-member districts, the electoral system is two-round with both seats going to a party list. In districts with three or more seats, closed list proportional representation is the electoral system.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
National Assembly 2001-10-19 560,045 1,028,630 54.45%
Senate 2001-10-26 - - -
President 2003-11-07 673,591 1,203,668 55.96%
Referendum 2006-06-25 756,643 989,664 76.45%
National Assembly 2006-11-19 788,029 1,073,287 73.42%
Senate 2007-01-21 3,623 3,688 98.24%
President 2007-03-11 794,979 1,133,152 70.16%
President 2007-03-25 764,045 1,132,877 67.44%
President 2009-07-18 816,974 1,265,063 64.58%
National Assembly 2013-11-23 878,693 1,189,105 73.9%
National Assembly 2013-12-21 243,998 311,940 78.22%
President 2014-06-21 749,865 1,328,168 56.46%

Voter Turnout