Marshall Islands

Republic of the Marshall Islands

53,211 3

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database

44,588 78.47%

Registered Voters (as of None)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Marshallese Parliament Nitijela Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Hilda C. HEINE
  • Head of Government: President Hilda C. HEINE
  • Assembly: Marshall Islands has a unicameral Parliament (Nitijela) with 33 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by parliament to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Parliament (Nitijela) 33 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Marshallese Parliament 2007-11-19 - 36,275 -
Marshallese Parliament 2011-11-21 39,994 36,000 111.09%
Marshallese Parliament 2015-11-16 20,442 44,588 45.85%

Voter Turnout