113,648 3

Population (as of July 1, 2016)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Aruban Legislature Staten Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: King WILLEM-ALEXANDER*
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Michiel Godfried EMAN
  • Assembly: Aruba has a unicameral Legislature (Staten) with 21 seats.

* The King is represented by Governor General Fredis REFUNJOL (since 11 May 2004).

Description of electoral system:

  • The King is hereditary.
  • The Prime Minister is elected by parliament to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Legislature (Staten) 21 members are elected through an open-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.***

*** There is one nationwide district.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Aruban Legislature 2009-09-25 55,125 65,000 84.81%
Aruban Legislature 2013-09-27 58,350 68,756 84.87%
President 2017-09-22 - - -

Voter Turnout