Feb. 18, 2008 Confirmed

Registered to Vote

Islamic Republic of Pakistan

Election for Aiwān-i bālā Pākistān (Pakistani Senate)

More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 342 seats in the National Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Pervez MUSHARRAF *
  • Head of Government: Interim Prime Minister Mohammadmian SOOMRO
  • Assembly: Pakistan has a bicameral Parliament (Majlis-e-Shoora) consisting of the Senate with 100 seats and the National Assembly with 342 seats.

* The Electoral College consists of members of the Senate, National Assembly and the Provincial Assemblies.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by an electoral college to serve a 5-year term.
  • Interim Prime Minister is elected by parliament.
  • In the Senate 100 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 6-year terms*. In the National Assembly 342 members are elected by party-list system with proportional distribution of seats to serve 5-year terms.**

* Senate members are indirectly elected by the provincial assemblies and the territories