Dec. 11, 2006 Confirmed

Registered to Vote
Saint Lucia

Saint Lucia

Election for Saint Lucian Senate

More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 17 seats in the House of Representatives

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Kenneth Davis ANTHONY
  • Assembly: Saint Lucia has a bicameral Parliament consisting of the Senate with 11 seats and the House of Representatives with 17 seats.

* The Queen is represented by Governor General Dame Pearlette LOUISY.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is the hereditary head of state.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the governor-general.
  • In the Senate 11 members are appointed to serve 5-year terms*. In the House of Representatives 17 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.

* In the Senate, 11 members are appointed to serve 5-year terms (6 on the advice of the prime minister, 3 on the advice of the leader of the opposition, and 2 after consultation with religious, economic, and social groups).

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: Saint Lucia Labor Party (SLP)
    Leader: Kenneth ANTHONY
    Seats won in last House of Representatives election: 14
  • Party: United Workers Party (UWP)
    Leader: Sir John COMPTON
    Seats won in last House of Representatives election: 3

Last Parliamentary election:

  • Elections to the House of Assembly were last held on 3 December 2001.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 168,458 (July 2006 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 135,958 (November 2006 )

Elections in Saint Lucia