Oct. 5, 2019 Held

United Arab Emirates

United Arab Emirates

Election for Majlis al-Ittihad al-Watani (Emirati Federal National Council)


Cast Votes:117,592
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Independents 20 - 117,592


More Info:

At Stake in this Election:       

  • 20 seats of the Federal National Council (Majlis al-Ittihad al-Watani).

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: President Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan (since November 2004)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum (since January 2006)
  • Assembly: The United Arab Emirates has a uncimaral Majlis al-Ittihad al-Watani (Federal National Council) consisting of 40 seats.

Electoral System:

  • In the Federal National Council, 20 members are appointed by the rulers of the 7 constituent states and 20 are indirectly elected by an electoral college whose members are selected by each emirate ruler proportional to its Federal National Council membership. Members serve 4-year terms.
  • The composition of the Council is distributed as follows[1]:
    • 8 seats for the Emirate of Abu Dhabi.
    • 8 seats for the Emirate of Dubai.
    • 6 seats for the Emirate of Sharjah.
    • 6 seats for the Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah.
    • 4 seats for the Emirate of Ajman.
    • 4 seats for the Emirate and Fujairah.
    • 4 seats for the Emirate of Umm Al Quwain.

Main Candidates in this Election:

  • The United Arab Emirates does not have political parties. All candidates for the Federal National Council run as independents.

Winners per State:

  • Emirate of Abu Dhabi
  1. Suhail Nukhairah Suhail Al Affari
  2. Khalfan Rashid Al Nayli Al Shamsi
  3. Naema Abdul Rahman Mohammed Al Mansouri
  4. Moaza Mohammed Musallam Al Amri
  • Emirate of Dubai
  1. Hamad Ahmad Sultan Al Rahoumi
  2. Osama Ahmad Abdullah Al Shafar
  3. Mariam Majed Khalfan bin Thania
  4. Sarah Mohammed Amin Filknaz
  • Emirate of Sharjah
  1. Humaid Ali Al Abbar Al Shamsi
  2. Adnan Hamad Mohammed Al Hammadi
  3. Obaid Khalfan Obaid Al Ghoul
  • Emirate of Ajman
  1. Ahmad Hamad Abu Shihab Al Suwaidi
  2. Hind Humaid bin Hindi Al Olayli
  • Emirate of Umm Al Quwain
  1. Mohammed Issa Obaid Al Kashef
  2. Athra Hassan Humaid bin Rakkad
  • Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah
  1. Yousef Abdullah Batran Al Shihhi
  2. Saeed Rashid Abdullah Al Abdi
  3. Ahmad Abdullah Mohammed Al Shihhi
  • Emirate of Fujairah
  1. Mohammed Ahmad Mohammed Al Yamahi
  2. Sabreen Hasan Saeed Al Yamahi

Population and Registered Voters:

  • Population: 9,771,000[2]
  • Registered Voters: 337,738[3]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 3,004,000[4]
  • Is United Arab Emirates a signatory to CEDAW: N/A
  • Has United Arab Emirates ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (6 October 2004)
  • Gender Quota: No
  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Legislators: 9 (22.5%)[5]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 34[6]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

  • Is United Arab Emirates a signatory to CRPD: Yes (8 February 2008)
  • Has United Arab Emirates ratified CRPD: Yes (19 March 2010)
  • Population with a disability: 866,964[7]