Nov. 28, 2011 Tentative

Congo (Kinshasa), Democratic Republic of the

Democratic Republic of the Congo

Election for Sénat (Congo DRC Senate)


Cast Votes:20,336,159
Valid Votes:-1
Invalid Votes:-1


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Congolese Rally for Democracy 15 - -

Movement for the Liberation of Congo 64 - -

Christian Democratic Party 8 - -

Union pour la Nation Congolaise 26 - -

People's Party for Reconstruction and Democracy 111 - -

Social Movement for Renewal 27 - -

More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 500 seats in the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Joseph KABILA
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Adolphe MUZITO **
  • Assembly: Democratic Republic of the Congo has a bicameral Parliament (Parlement) consisting of the Senate (Sénat) with 112 seats and the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 500 seats.

** Usually from the majority party or coalition in the National Assembly (lower house).

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the President.
  • In the Senate (Sénat) 112 members are indirectly elected through an open-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms*. In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), 60 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 440 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.**

* Members are elected by regional legislatures. Each multi-member district corresponds to one of 26 provinces or Kinshasha. The magnitude of each district is 4, except Kinshasha, whose magnitude is 8. The electoral system is open-list PR. Former Presidents may be Senators ex officio.

** There are 109 multi-member districts in the list tier. Minimum magnitude is 2. Each voter gets two votes: one in either tier.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: People's Party for Reconstruction and Democracy (PPRD) / Parti du Peuple pour la Reconstruction et la Democratie
    Leader: Joseph KABILA
  • Party: Movement for the Liberation of Congo / Mouvement pour la Liberation du Congo (MLC)
    Leader: Jean-Pierre BEMBA
  • Party: Union pour la Nation Congolaise (UNC)
    Leader: Vital KAMERHE
  • Party: Congolese Rally for Democracy / Rassemblement Congloais pour la Democratie
    Leader: Azaria RUBERWA
  • Party: Social Movement for Renewal (MSR) / Mouvement Social pour le Renouveau
    Leader: Pierre LUMBI
  • Party: Christian Democratic Party / Parti Démocrate Chrétien (PDC)
    Leader: Jose Endundo BONONGE

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 71,712,867 (July 2011 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 32,024,640 (November 2011 )