Anguilla's Opposition Wins Landslide Victory

April 24, 2015, 4:48 p.m.

Anguilla held an election for 7 seats of its unicameral parliament (House of Assembly) on Wednesday April 22, 2014. While the nation’s parliament has 11 seats in total, its mixed electoral system entails that 7 members be elected by plurality vote in single member districts to serve 5-year terms, and 4 members be appointed to serve 5-year terms (2 out of these are appointed ex-officio). In this election the Opposition Anguilla United Front (AUF) won a landslide victory that gave it 6 seats, and making AUF leader Victor BANKS the island’s next Chief Minister. Mr. BANKS was sworn in as Chief Minister on the same day by Governor Christina SCOTT.

comments powered by Disqus