Israel Holds General Elections

March 20, 2015, 3:30 p.m.

The State of Israel held an election on 17 March 2015 for the 120 seats in the Knesset, Israel’s unicameral legislature.  Candidates are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.  In this election, voter turnout increased to 72.3%, up from 67%[1] during the last election held on 22 January 2013.  Although final results will not be released until the 25th of March, the Central Elections Committee estimates that Likud won 30 seats, the Zionist Union won 24 seats, the Joint Arab List won 13 seats, Yesh Atid won 11 seats, Kulanu won 10 seats, Bayit Yehudi won 8 seats, Shas won 7 seats, United Torah Judaism won 6 seats, Yisrael Beytenu won 6 seats, and Meretz won 5 seats.[2]  The Likud Party’s victory, despite its losing a seat compared to its success in 2013, was accompanied by an increase in the number of seats won by the Joint Arab List, which won 13 seats in parliament compared to the 4 seats won by the United Arab List—Arab Movement for Renewal in 2013.

[1] http://www.electionguide.org/elections/id/2828/

[1] http://www.ynetnews.com/articles/0,7340,L-4638833,00.html

[1] http://www.ynetnews.com/articles/0,7340,L-4638833,00.html

comments powered by Disqus