Opposition Coalition Wins Saint Kitts and Nevis Election

Feb. 19, 2015, 1:25 p.m.

A coalition of three opposition parties won the parliamentary election held in Saint Kitts and Nevis on 16 February 2015. This news comes after a day of controversy over Supervisor of Elections Wingrove George's suspension of ballot counting, which delayed the announcement of official results. Despite this setback, observer groups like CARICOM have commended the general conduct of elections after observing over 50 polling stations.

The winning coalition, Team Unity, consisted of the Concerned Citizens' Movement (CCM), the People's Action Movement (PAM) and the newly formed People's Labour Party (PLP).  Out of the 11 seats at stake in the National Assembly, Team Unity won 7 seats, and the coalition's leader Dr. Timothy HARRIS was sworn in as Prime Minister on 18 February 2015.  Previously, the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis was under the 20-year rule of the Saint Kitts and Nevis Labour Party (SKNLP), led by Dr. Denzil Douglas, who has served as Prime Minister since 1995.   Thus the rise of Team Unity may signal the start of a new era in federation politics. 





comments powered by Disqus