Year in Review - May 2013

Dec. 23, 2013, 12:31 p.m.

Malaysia (May 5, 2013): Elections to the House of Representatives (Dewan Negara) in Malaysia were held on May 5, 2013. In the election, 222 members are elected by popular vote, in single member constituencies. The ruling National Front / Barisan Nasional coalition prevailed in the election. Despite winning only 47.38 percent of the vote nationwide, Barisan Nasional won 133 seats in the House of Representatives. This results marked the worst result for Barisan Nasional since 1969. The opposition People’s Alliance / Pakatan Rakyat received a majority of the votes in the election (50.87 percent), but received only 89 seats in the election.

Pakistan (May 11, 2013): Elections for the 14th National Assembly in Pakistan were held on May 11, 2013. The Pakistan Muslim League (PML (N)) led by Nawaz SHARIF won the most votes in the election. The PML (N) won 32.77 percent of the vote in the world’s fifth largest democracy, giving the party 167 seats in the assembly, just short of an absolute majority.[1] This result marked the first democratic transition of power following a five-year term by a government in Pakistan’s history. Receiving the second most seats in the election were the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), which won 39 seats after receiving 15.23 percent of the vote. The Movement for Justice, received the second most votes in the election, however, finished the election with only 35 seats in the National Assembly.

Bulgaria (May 12, 2013): Early parliamentary election were held in Bulgaria following the resignation of the Citizens for European Development of Bulgaria / Граждани за европейско развитие на България (GERB) party in February. In the election, 240 members were elected through closed-list proportional representation in 31 multi-member constituencies. Parties must meet a 4 percent threshold to gain seats in the National Assembly (Narodono Sabranie). The GERB party, led by former Prime Minister Boyko BORISOV won the most votes in the election, winning 30.54 percent of the vote and 97 seats in the National Assembly. The Bulgarian Socialist Party / Българска социалистическа партия (BSP) finished second in the election, winning 84 seats and 26.61 percent of the vote. Following the election, BORISOV and the GERB party had the first opportunity to form a government, but returned the mandate on May 24, 2013. The BSP and the Movement for Rights and Freedoms Party / Движение за права и свободи formed a coalition after the election, and nominated a technocratic cabinet led by former Finance Minister Plamen ORESHARSKI.

Philippines (May 13, 2013): Elections to the Philippine Senate (Senado) and House of Representatives (Kapulungan Ng Mga Kinatawan) were held on May 13, 2013. At stake in the Senate election were 12 seats. The United Nationalist Alliance / Nagkakaisang Alyansang Makabansa (UNA) won 3 seats in the election, having won 26.89 percent of the vote. The Nationalist Party / Partido Nacionalista also won 3 seats in the election, having won 15.32 percent of the vote. In the Senate election, the Liberal Party / Partido Liberal ng Pilipinas won 1 seat and 11.28 percent of the vote. At stake in the House of Representatives election were 291 seats. In the election to the House of Representatives, the Liberal Party won 111 seats, having won 38.27 percent of the vote. Coalition partners won a further 2 seats in the assembly. The coalition led by the UNA won only 11.34 percent of the vote in the House of Representatives, giving them 10 seats in the House of Representatives. The Nationalist People’s Coalition / Koalisyong Makabayan ng Bayan won the second most seats in the election, winning 42 seats and 17.40 percent of the vote.

Cayman Islands (May 22, 2013): Elections to the Legislative Assembly were held in the Cayman Islands on May 22, 2013. Following constitutional changes in 2009, 18 members are directly elected to the body in multi-member constituencies. The opposition People’s Progressive Movement, led by Alden McLaughlin, won the most votes in the election, winning 36.07 percent of the vote and 9 seats in the Legislative Assembly. BUSH’s United Democratic Party won 27.75 percent of the vote and 3 seats in the new Assembly. Overall, two other parties gained seats in the Legislative Assembly, in addition to 2 independent candidates. Premier MCLAUGHLIN has stated following the election that this will be the last election in the Cayman Islands not to use the principle of “one man, one vote.”

Equatorial Guinea (May 26, 2013): Elections to the Senate (Senado) and House of People’s Representatives (Camara de Representantes del Pueblo) were held in Equatorial Guinea on May 26, 2013. This was the first Senate election in Equatorial Guinea’s history, following its approval in a 2011 referendum. In the Senate election, of the 55 seats directly election, 54 seats were won by the ruling Democratic Party of Equatorial Guinea / Partido Democrático de Guinea Ecuatorial (PDGE), led by Tedoro OBIANG Nguema Mbasogo. In the House of People’s Representatives elections, the PDGE won 99 of the 100 directly elected seats. The opposition Convergence for Social Democracy / Covergencia para la Democracia Social, won 1 seat in both houses. Vote totals were not released for the elections for either body.

Bhutan (May 31 and July 13, 2013): Elections to the National Assembly / Gyelyong Tshogdu were held over two stages in Bhutan on May 31, 2013 and July 13, 2013. The first round of voting was held to determine the two parties that would be able to nominate candidates in the 47 single-member constituencies for the second round elections. Four parties participated in the first round of voting, with the ruling Druk Phuensum Tshogpa receiving the most votes, with 44.52 percent. The opposition People’s Democratic Party would also be able to nominate candidates in the second round, winning 32.53 percent of the vote. The People’s Democratic Party, led by Tshering TOBGAY, scored an upset victory in the second round of polling, winning 54.88 percent of the vote and 32 seats in the National Assembly. This marked the first democratic transition of power in Bhutan’s history. The Druk Phuensum Tshogpa finished the election with 45.12 percent of the vote, which means that they won 15 seats in the election.  

[1] 19 of the 167 seats were won by independent candidates that allied with SHARIF upon conclusion of the election.

comments powered by Disqus