Sao Tome and Principe hold parliamentary elections

Aug. 1, 2010, midnight

Sao Tome and Principe's Independent Democratic Action (ADI) party won Sunday's parliamentary election but failed to secure enough seats for a majority. The opposition ADI captured 26 seats in the 55 seat parliament, while the ruling MLSTP-PSD party of Prime Minister Rafael BRANCO won 21. The lack of a clear majority means the country will once again once again have a government without a strong mandate. Since becoming a democracy in 1991 the island nation has gone through 14 prime ministers with no parliamentary coalition lasting the entire session.

comments powered by Disqus