Oct. 27, 2007 Confirmed

Registered to Vote

Sultanate of Oman

Election for Majlis al-Dawla (Omani Council of State)

More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 84 seats in the Lower Chamber (Majlis al-Shura)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Sultan and Prime Minister QABOOS bin Said al-Said
  • Head of Government: Sultan and Prime Minister QABOOS bin Said al-Said
  • Assembly: Oman has a bicameral Parliament (Majlis Oman) consisting of the Upper Chamber (Majlis al-Dawla) with 48 seats and the Lower Chamber (Majlis al-Shura) with 84 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Sultan and Prime Minister is hereditary N/A.
  • In the Upper Chamber (Majlis al-Dawla) 59 members are appointed by the monarch*. In the Lower Chamber (Majlis al-Shura) 84 members are elected by popular vote to serve 4-year terms.**

* The Majlis al-Dawla has advisory powers only.

** Members of the Majlis al-Shura are elected from 59 multi-member and single-member electoral districts. Districts with a population over 30,000 have multiple representatives. The Majlis al-Shura has some limited power to propose legislatiion, but otherwise has only advisory powers.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 3,204,897 (July 2007 Estimate includes 577,292 non-nationals.)
  • Registered Voters: 338,683 (October 2007 )