May 10, 2012 Confirmed

Registered to Vote

People's Democratic Republic of Algeria

Election for Majlis al-Oumma (Algerian Council of the Nation)

More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 462 seats in the National People's Assembly (Al-Majlis Ech-Chaabi Al-Watani)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Abdelaziz BOUTEFLIKA *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Ahmed OUYAHIA
  • Assembly: Algeria has a bicameral Parliament (Majlis) consisting of the Council of the Nation (Majlis al-Oumma) with 144 seats and the National People's Assembly (Al-Majlis Ech-Chaabi Al-Watani) with 462 seats.

* A November 2008 constitutional amendment abolished presidential term limits.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the President.
  • In the Council of the Nation (Majlis al-Oumma), 96 members are indirectly elected by an electoral college to serve 6-year terms and 48 members are appointed by the President to serve 6-year terms*. In the National People's Assembly (Al-Majlis Ech-Chaabi Al-Watani) 462 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms.**

* The Constitution requires half the Council of Nations to be renewed every three years. There are 48 multi-member (2 seats) corresponding to country's wilayas (administrative districts).

** There is a five percent threshold for entering parliament. There are 48 multi-member districts, corresponding to country's administrative units. Depending on the area, 20 to 50 percent of parties' list candidates must be women.

Main parties in the electoral race:

***** The Green Alliance is composed of the Mouvement de la société pour la paix (MSP), Ennahda; and Islah.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 35,406,303 (July 2012 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 21,645,841 (May 2012 )