Presidential Election Held in Mauritania on 21 June 2014

June 27, 2014, 3:24 p.m.

The election for the Office of President of Mauritania was held on Saturday 21 June 2014. President Mohamed Ould Abdel AZIZ ran for a second term, and other candidates included anti-slavery activist Biram Ould Dah Ould ABEID of the Resurgence of the Abolitionist Movement (IRA) party; Ibrahima Moctar SARR of the Alliance for Justice and Democracy/Movement for Renewal party; Bodiel Ould HOUMEID of the Party for Democracy and Entente; and Lalla Mariam Mint Moulaye IDRISS, the only female candidate running for President. On Sunday 22 June the election commission announced that President AZIZ won another five-year term with 82 percent of the vote.[i] The Commission also claimed that 56 percent of the 1,189,105 registered voters participated in the election.[ii] However, The National Forum for Democracy and Unity, a coalition of opposition parties, boycotted the election, claiming that the process was flawed.[iii] Biram Ould Dah Ould ABEID, who won 9 percent of the vote, has filed an appeal with the Constitutional Council.[iv]


[i] http://af.reuters.com/article/topNews/idAFKBN0F00ID20140625

[ii] http://www.middleeasteye.net/news/re-elected-mauritanian-president-vows-promote-unity-despite-boycotts/588590371

[iii] http://www.euronews.com/2014/06/23/mauritanian-president-reelected-with-overwhelming-majority/

[iv] http://www.aljazeera.com/news/africa/2014/06/mauritania-runner-up-rejects-election-results-2014624232816889671.html

comments powered by Disqus