General Elections in Macedonia Return VMRO-DPMNE to Power

May 2, 2014, 11:50 a.m.

Voters in Macedonia went to the polls on April 27, 2014 to vote in elections for the Assembly / Sobranie and to complete the second round of voting for the President of Macedonia. At stake in the Parliamentary election are the 123 seats in the Assembly, elected through closed-list proportional representation, with 3 seats reserved for the Macedonian diaspora community. The elections were held a year early, after the government’s junior coalition party, the Democratic Union for Integration / Bashkimi Demokratik për Integrim (BDI) refused to support Gjorge IVANOV for re-election as President. The ruling Internal Macedonian Revolutionary Organization – Democratic Party for Macedonian National Unity Coaltion / Внатрешна македонска револуционерна организација – Демократска партија за македонско национално единство (VMRO-DPMNE), led by Prime Minister Nikola GRUEVSKI again won the most seats in the election, but fell just short of an outright majority. The VMRO-DPMNE received 481,289 votes (42.21 percent), winning 61 seats in the Assembly. The opposition Social Democratic Union of Macedonia / Социјалдемократски сојуз на Македонија (SDSM) finished second in the election with 283,930 votes (24.90 percent), winning 34 seats in the election, a decrease of 8 seats since the 2011 election. The BDI finished third, winning 153,583 votes (13.47 percent), giving them 19 seats in the Assembly. Also winning seats in the Assembly were the Democratic Party of Albanians / Partia Demokratike Shqiptare (DPA) (7 seats), the Citizen Option for Macedonia / Граѓанин опција за Македонија (GROM) (1 seat), and the National Democratic Party / Национална демократска партија (NDP) (1 seat). Turnout for the election was 64.05 percent, with 1,140,202 Macedonians participating.

The first round of presidential elections in Macedonia was held on April 13, 2014, with President Gjorge IVANOV receiving 51.67 percent of the votes. However, since the turnout for the election was less than 50 percent, it necessitated a run-off between IVANOV and Stevo PENDAROVSKI of the opposition SDSM. In the first round of voting PENDAROVSKI had received 37.52 percent of the vote. In the second round of the vote, IVANOV again received a majority of the votes, winning 57.32 percent of the vote (534,699 votes). By winning the election, IVANOV has won a second term in office as president of Macedonia.  

comments powered by Disqus