General Elections Held in Guinea-Bissau

April 18, 2014, 11:34 a.m.

General elections were held in Guinea-Bissau on April 13, 2014. Elections had previously been held in January 2012 following the death of President Malam Bacai SANHÁ. Following the first round of elections, a coup d’état was held by the army on April 12, 2012, where both candidates were arrested and a national unity government was installed. Elections to replace the national unity government were originally scheduled for November 24, 2013; however, due to funding problems, the elections were delayed.

Thirteen candidates participated in the presidential election, with no candidate receiving an absolute majority. As a result, a second round of voting will be held on May 18, 2014 to determine the winner. Jose Mario VAZ, candidate for the African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde  / Partido Africano da Independência da Guiné e Cabo Verde (PAIGC) and ex-finance minister of Guinea-Bissau, received the most votes in the election, receiving 252,269 votes (40.98 percent). Nuno Gomes NABIAM, an independent candidate and former head of the civil aviation authority finished second. NABIAM was backed by the leader of the leading opposition party, the Party for Social Renewal / Partido para a Renovação Social (PRS), former President Kumba YALA.

In addition to the presidential election, voters elected the 102 members of the National People’s Assembly (Assembleia Nacional Popular). Members of the National People’s Assembly are elected using proportional representation in 27 multi-member districts. The PAIGC received the most votes in the election, receiving 271,760 votes (47.31 percent), giving them a majority of 55 seats in the National People’s Assembly. The PRS finished second in the election, receiving 178,867 votes (31.14 percent), giving them 41 seats in the National People’s Assembly. Three other parties also won seats in the election; the Democratic Convergence Party / Partido da Convergência Democrática (2 seats), the New Democracy Party / Partido da Nova Democracia (1 seat), and the Union for Change / União para a Mudança (1 seat).

comments powered by Disqus