Bangladesh Holds Parliamentary Polls

Jan. 10, 2014, 10:26 a.m.

Elections to the Bengali Parliament (Jatiyo Sangshad) were held on January 5, 2014. At stake in the election were 300 seats elected by plurality vote in single-member districts. The run-up to the election was marred by protests by the opposition coalition. Following the refusal of Prime Minister Sheikh HASINA Wajed to step down and form the traditional transitional electoral government, the 18-party alliance of opposition parties said they would boycott the election. As a result of the electoral boycott, only 146 of the 300 seats were contested, with 154 members being elected without opposition. Prime Minister’s HASINA’s Awami League retained their parliamentary majority, winning 127 of the uncontested seats, in addition to 104 other seats, for a total of 231 in the new Parliament. The Jatiya Party, which had threatened to boycott the election, won 33 seats in the election. In eight constituencies, the election was suspended due to violence, with re-elections to be held. The newly elected members to the Parliament were sworn into office on January 9, 2014.

comments powered by Disqus