Results Released from Malian Parliamentary Election

Jan. 3, 2014, 10:33 a.m.

Parliamentary elections were held in Mali over two rounds on November 24 and December 15, 2013. Malians voted to elect 147 members of the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), with 147 candidates elected by absolute majority in single-member districts. In the first round of voting, only 16 seats were won with an outright majority, while the other 131 seats were decided in the second round. The Rally for Mali / Rassamblement pour le Mali (RPM), led by President Ibrahim Boubacar KEÏTA, received the most seats, winning 8 seats in the first round, and 53 seats in the second round for 61 seats in the National Assembly. Additionally, allied parties to the RPM won a further 54 seats over the two rounds of voting, giving them 115 seats overall in the assembly. The opposition will be led by the Union for the Republic and Democracy / Union pour la République et le Démocratie, which won 18 seats in the election.

comments powered by Disqus