Parliamentary Elections in Turkmenistan

Dec. 12, 2013, 12:12 p.m.

Voters will go to the polls in Turkmenistan on Sunday to elect 125 members to the National Assembly (Mejlis). Members of the National Assembly (Mejlis) are elected by absolute majority vote in single-member constituencies. This will be the first multi-party election in Turkmenistan’s history, as prior to 2012 there was only one legally recognized political party, the Democratic Party of Turkmenistan / Türkmenistanyň Demokratik Partiýasy. The Democratic Party of Turkmenistan / Türkmenistanyň Demokratik Partiýasy is led by Kasymguly BABAEV, who took over the leadership from President Gurbaguly BERDYMUKHAMMEDOV on August 18, 2013, and currently has 124 seats in the National Assembly (Mejlis). A second party loyal to the Democratic Party of Turkmenistan, the Party of Industrialists and Entrepreneurs, will also contest the election. The party was created in August 2012, and holds 1 seat in the National Assembly (Mejlis) after winning a by-election in June 2013.

comments powered by Disqus