Hernández Declared Winner

Dec. 12, 2013, 1:29 p.m.

The Honduran electoral tribunal (TSE) has declared Juan Orlando HERNÁNDEZ as the winner of the Honduran presidential election held on November 24, 2013. In the election, HERNÁNDEZ of the National Party of Honduras / Partido Nacional de Honduras (PNH) won 36.89 percent (1,149,302 votes) of the vote to replace President Porfirio LOBO Sosa, who was term-limited. Finishing second in the election was Xiomara CASTRO de Zelaya, the wife of former Honduran President Manuel ZELAYA, who was ousted from office in 2009. CASTRO finished with 896,498 votes (28.75 percent), and has levied allegations of fraud in wake of the election, although the Organization of American States has urged all Hondurans to respect the confirmed results of the election. Finishing third in the election was the candidate of the Liberal Party / Partido Liberal de Honduras, Mauricio VILLEDA, who won 632,320 votes (20.30 percent). Despite opinion polls showing a stronger result, finishing fourth was sportscaster Salvador NASRALLA of the Anti-Corruption Party / Partido Anticorrupción with 418,443 votes (13.43 percent). In the election, 3,275,346 Hondurans (61.16 percent) cast their ballots. According to the TSE, HERNÁNDEZ will be sworn in as president on January 27, 2014.

Image courtesy of honduras.com

comments powered by Disqus