Constituent Assembly Results Released

Dec. 6, 2013, 11:18 a.m.

Elections to the Constituent Assembly in Nepal were held on November 19, 2013, with 601 seats at stake. Of these seats, 240 are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies, 335 are elected through closed list proportional representation, and another 26 are appointed by the Cabinet. Nepal’s oldest political party, Nepal Congress won the most seats in the election, winning 2,418,370 votes (25.55 percent) at the proportional representation tier, which will give the party 196 seats in the Constituent Assembly. The Communist Party of Nepal (United Marxist-Leninists) won the second most seats in the Constituent Assembly, winning 175 seats after receiving 2,239,609 votes (23.66 percent). Finishing third in the election was the Unified Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist), who won 80 seats in the election, having received 1,439,726 votes (15.21 percent). In the election, 30 parties total won seats in the body, which will work to draft the Nepalese constitution. In the election, 9,463,862 Nepalese citizens cast votes.

comments powered by Disqus