Falkland Islands Elects Legislative Assembly

Nov. 8, 2013, 3:02 p.m.

Elections to the Legislative Assembly of the Falkland Islands were held on November 7, 2013. At stake in the election were 8 seats in the Legislative Assembly, elected through block vote to serve 4-year terms. Elections in the Falkland Islands occur in two districts; Stanley (5 seats) and Camp (3 seats). All candidates in the Falkland Islands are elected as independents, as no political parties exist on the Falkland Islands. Of the 8 sitting members of the Legislative Assembly, 7 ran for re-election, with only MLA Dick SAWLE choosing not to run for re-election. Of these 7 candidates, 6 won re-election, with Sharon HALFORD being the only candidate not re-elected. The candidate receiving the most votes in the election was Michael POOLE, who received a total of 957 votes (91.23 percent) in the Stanley constituency. POOLE will be the youngest member of the Legislative Assembly, and the first to be born after the Falklands War in 1982. In the election, 1,724 residents (78.95 percent) of the Falkland Islands voted in the election.

comments powered by Disqus